fiddle*sticks

Because Everyone is Entitled to My Opinion

Monday Manna August 11, 2008

Filed under: Monday Manna — violin3679 @ 10:34 pm

Psalm 27:8 – My heart says of  you, “Seek his face!” Your face, Lord, I will seek.

The context of this verse applies so profoundly to this season of my life. I don’t want to talk about specifics because I’m sick of hashing it out, to be honest, but I will tell you that I’ve been dealing with several emotions that I haven’t really had to deal with up until this point in my life: crippling fear and loneliness. How precious this chapter of scripture is in addressing both.

Verse 1: The Lord is my light and my salvation -whom shall I fear? The Lord is the stronghold of my life – of whom shall I be afraid? How many times have I recited this verse to myself over the last week…I couldn’t count. Some of my fear is rational, but Satan has done his worst trying to twist my mind, turning what should have been caution into an irrational fear. So what do I do to overcome? Seek His face! I just repeat that over and over. Your face, Lord, I will seek. Whom shall I fear…You are the stronghold of my life… You, and not fear.

“I’m lonely” is not something that I have ever said out loud. I’ve never even really thought it. But loneliness has been trying to absolutely tear my mind apart. Again, the devil’s trying to get a foothold during this season of transition, trying to convince me that I can’t survive alone and that I’m completely disconnected from the outside world. Honestly, I’m only disconnected if I let myself become that way. I have a tendency to hole up instead of reaching out. But not this time. Your face, Lord, I will seek. Whether in the Word or at church or in a friend, Your face I will seek. You are the stronghold of my life. You, and not loneliness.

The mind is such a battlefield. I think that all those internal functions of the body, the mind, the heart, are so tricky. They are so valuable and vital in spiritual growth and happiness, but are such fertile ground for seeds of discontent and falsehood. Our minds lie to us. Our hearts fool us. But at the same time we can pursue the mind of Christ and a heart like God’s. The only way to protect ourselves is to just have that confidence in God and trust that He’s going to protect us. Because, truthfully, what can we really do to protect ourselves? If someone is going to hurt us they’re going to hurt us. There’s nothing we can do about it.

I love how Psalm 27 ends. It’s seems so human to me, the way David is reassuring himself: “Wait for the Lord: be strong and take heart and wait for the Lord.”

Wait. Just wait. It’s scary now, but He’s coming. Just a few moments more.

I know that my Redeemer lives and that in the end He will stand upon the earth. And after my skin has been destroyed, yet in my flesh I will see him with my own eyes – I and not another. How my heart yearns within me!

Just wait.

 

2 Responses to “Monday Manna”

  1. skoots1mom Says:

    His promises never fail…
    this is the waiting that Beth was talking about…when it gets hard and we want His time to come sooner. Yet, He is working His plan in some way that we cannot see but that will be best for us in His time…He wants the best for us, He woos us to Him in the interim and your ability to see and know your love for Him makes him smile every time you go to Him!
    i love you…:: )

  2. Kristen Says:

    Your thoughts and life shared on this verse are astounding. With such an open vulnerablity and yet a strength not of this world, your words point me to someone so much greater than I or anything I face in this world: Christ Jesus.

    “Our minds lie to us. Our hearts fool us. But at the same time we can pursue the mind of Christ and a heart like God’s.”

    This is my pursuit.

    So well put.

    Thank you SO MUCH for joining us today. It is a joy for me to get to know you through your writing.

    Hope to see you next week.

    <3, Kristen


Leave a Reply

